17 comments on “Seeking Silence

  1. Hi David,
    Thank you for the beautiful pictures you shared. Looks so peaceful. May you enjoy your 2nd Christmas, and may you and your grandmother receive peace of mind. You are such a kind soul to help her out! I wish I could meet up with your photography invite, alas, I’m on the opposite coast right now. Perhaps one day. Also, it would be good to know someone firsthand who knows how to operate the Nikon DSLR. I’m always stuck on manual. I have informative books, but I think I’d understand it quicker if there was a knowledgable person around from time to time to help get through it all. Take good care and enjoy your 2nd Christmas!
    Cheers, Denise

    • Thank you, Denise. Have you tried shooting in aperture priority mode? It’s what I use nearly all the time. You still have creative control over your depth of field, which is mainly all I need.

      If you want to learn quickly, you can look for a local Nikon photographer that puts on a beginner workshop. I guarantee you’ll improve faster with hands on help.

      • Thank you for the tips. I am such a newbie. No I’ve never shot in aperture priority mode. Your suggestion of finding help thru a Nikon photographer’s beginner workshop is a good one. Perhaps come springtime I’ll look into it. It’s nice of you to give pointers. Thank you so very much. šŸ˜ƒ

  2. Dave, the way you care for your grandmother is extraordinary. She’s a lucky woman.

    Beautiful images. Sure wish I could meet you. Haven’t been on the west coast in years and I miss it.

  3. Well you hit the nail on the head my friend. Peace and Quiet is what draws me to photography. I lose track of time when I’m in the zone. Wishing you much joy in the new year.

    • Do you normally shoot alone? The majority of my photography is done by myself, but it can be fun with other people too, when I’m in the mood to teach, or see other perspectives.

  4. It has been years since I drove up along the coast as it is one of the most beautiful coast lines here in Northern California. It is, was you mentioned truly meditative, especially if you can find access to the shore where not all venture and you can feel that you are all by yourself.

Leave a Reply

