11 comments on “Flowers for Grandma

  1. I am a novice at any kind of digital enhancement. Your articles are terrific and I’m impressed by what I can do with Snapseed. I’m looking forward to trying the tilt technique.

    I know the challenges of coping with the elderly so have some appreciation of what you are going through. Hopefully your posts on this site will help take your mind off your grandmother’s challenges.

    Thanks for the photo inspiration!

    Iona McAulay Sent from my iPhone

    • Thank you, Iona. Over the years, while teaching myself to edit with photoshop, I was always frustrated that hardly anybody was sharing their workflow secrets for free, nor were they even mentioning what plugins/filters they use. It was always a goal of mine to be more transparent with what I’m doing on my iphone, so more people can have fun being creative too.

  2. Ohhhhhh Grandma, I wish you were feeling better.

    That poor girl. I’m glad you’re taking care of her. I can imagine how challenging it is, but you are one person I know who can meet those challenges. You have such a wonderful disposition and attitude, David. AND, I’m so glad you got these flowers for her. Yep, that will cheer any of us up in a heartbeat. This picture is so pretty I can almost smell them 🙂

    Congratulations on the iphonephotography interview. If anyone’s an expert in that category, it’s you. Well done, sir.

    Hang in there 🙂

  3. For 13 years, I helped take care of my mom, who had dementia. It is a very complex and challenging disability to manage. I hope you get regular breaks. If possible, think of it as shifts, max 8 hour shift during the day. Then evening and sleeping over are fine, because you are there and that keeps her safe, but hopefully less demanding during those hours. But I hope you can get at least a four hour break during the day, with someone else taking over during that time. I hope your grandma feels better and reassured in her routine.

    The flowers are gorgeous! Especially against the dark background on your blog page.

    • That’s a long time to care for someone. I can’t even imagine all that you went through during those years. We do have a caregiver come for 6 hours a day during the week. That’s given me some relief, but I still can’t work uninterrupted while she’s here.

      • I’m so glad to hear that, David. The situation will never be perfect, but it sounds like something you can life with. In it’s way, the situation is a beautiful gift of unconditional love that will leave you feeling good for the rest of your life. *hugs*

  4. You’re a good grandson, David! You’ll never regret doing what you’re doing for your grandmother.
    I really do have to thank you for the transparency and tips you always provide on your photo processing. You were the first person on WP that showed me how to do things, and what filters, etc. to use. You’ve been a great mentor!

  5. Pingback: A blogger award for my birthday! | Nia Simone, Author

Leave a Reply

