10 comments on “Bye Bye Beach

  1. David–
    Take photos of your grandmother. Tell her story through your art. I would love to hear about her past life–and what happens in the future. I’m sorry you are having to deal with this–it is very hard. I just nursed my mother through the last year of her life. Excruciating, but I would not trade the experience for anything.
    Good luck and good for you.

    • Thank you! I have thought about taking her photo daily or writing down her favorite memories of each of her children/grandchildren/great grandchildren. I don’t know if her memory is too far gone or if it would be too stressful if she can’t remember.

  2. You will never regret what you are doing. I also thought of your taking this as an opportunity to expand your blog and documenting your time with her in writing and photos. One thing I strongly suggest is that you be sure to have a back up so you can take breaks; that is very important for a caretaker, and check out city, county, state resources! There is an amazing number of them out there.

    • That is some good advice. My mom and aunt have been on top of things for months. She has 2 caretakers that come during the week, but there needs to be someone there overnight. I have a brother nearby that has offered to help too, so I won’t be too drained…I hope.

  3. I agree with what the others have said and you will be appreciated and respected for what you do — by your grandmother, by your mother, by other family members. And definitely be sure to take care of the caretaker. You need to be strong and fit in order to be of value to your grandmother. Good luck, we all look forward to seeing what’s next for you.

  4. Good luck David. Please remember to take care of yourself as well as your grandmother. Carers often need care! … And I am sure you will find plenty of things to provide inspiration for your photography.

Leave a Reply

