13 comments on “This Old Tree

  1. I can totally appreciate you taking a break: I’ve been doing the daily post for 2 months, and it is kind of grueling. You do learn some interesting things though, not only in iphoneography, but about the blogging process. So far the biggest lesson I’ve learned is that you have to present what makes YOU happy, whether it’s a photo or post, daily or not. If people have negative things to say, let the haters be your motivators!

    • Haha. I really haven’t had any hate here. Everyone has been supportive and encouraging. I think Flickr is the main place that people tell me they don’t like HDR. Mostly because they don’t understand that not all HDR is created equal. They see HDR in a title or description and hate it for those 3 letters.

      I think my problem here with posting everyday is I’m getting bored shooting the place that I live. I’ve been here for 8 years and am ready to move on to a new adventure.

      • Yes! I’m moving next year, and that’s the only reason I might continue if I can get through this year…a change of venue! But I love seeing your neck of the woods, and I guess there are those who enjoy mine. I’m trying to see it as a challenge to see my daily surroundings more objectively. Even though it’s not about what others think (!) it does help to try to see things through someone else’s eyes for that reason.
        Glad to hear you’re not really getting haters! Blogging community seems to be very supportive. :-)

  2. I like it!

    Boy, can I relate to needing a blogging break…..

    Regarding your style, including the HDRs, please just stay true to your vision. Always. It’s theeeeee best. :)

  3. the 8 year itch to get out and try something new.. im allll there with you on that one….. now im trying to find a new adventure.. kauai? I’ve been applying for jobs there… who knows what doors will open. Life is…. interesting…I see a road trip to big sur in my near future… after I get my tripod in the mail.. last one got ran over by a truck two days ago… don’t ask.. lol..but yes I also find this county… a bit boring…

    • Oh man that sucks about the tripod. Big sur is pretty amazing. I still have lots of exploring to do there.

      Do you think island life would be more interesting than the SLO life? I’d probably get bored after 5 years max.

      Did you hear about the free workshop lynda.com and photoshop are putting on in Carpinteria this saturday? I can email u a link when I get home later.

      • Island life might get old after a couple of years too.. but it would be a serious adventure. People work hard and play hard there. Did not hear about any free workshops.. email me the goods! I’m going to hit up the car show in morro bay this weekend.

  4. Great tree. :) I always wanted to take a photo of a lonely tree (something with character like this guy) up on a hill, but I haven’t found the right spot yet. There is so much background clutter here in CT.

    Great find, David. :)

    • It had tons of character. I wanted to throw my shoes up in it to give it even more. I think it would be amazing with 25 pairs of shoes hanging in it.

      I just got done shooting for quotography. I had a vision pop in my head while I was in the shower lol. Now we’ll see how it looks when I get home. Maybe I’ll tell you more about it later :)

Leave a Reply

